FDCP reveals honorees of 5th Film Ambassadors’ Night

Leo Bukas

The Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) has named the 60 honorees and special awardees for this year’s 5th Film Ambassadors’ Night (FAN) as well as the performers for the online event that will take place on February 28.

The FAN, an annual event spearheaded by the FDCP since 2017, recognizes Filipino film industry creatives, artists, filmmakers, and films of various formats that gained recognitions from established international film festivals and award-giving bodies in the past year.

FDCP reveals honorees of 5th Film Ambassadors’ Night
5th Film Ambassadors’ Night of FDCP

Leading the FAN 2021 honorees are the A-Listers, filmmakers Rafael Manuel and Lav Diaz. A-Listers pertain to those who bagged awards in prestigious A-List international film festivals as declared by the International Federation of Film Producers Associations (FIAPF).

Rafael Manuel was awarded the Berlinale Shorts Silver Bear Jury Prize for “Filipiñana” at the 70th Berlin International Film Festival in Germany while Lav Diaz won the Orizzonti Award for Best Director for “Lahi, Hayop (Genus Pan)” at the 77th Venice International Film Festival in Italy.

The Feature Films category has six honorees: “Sunshine Family” by Kim Tai-Sik, “Write About Love” by Crisanto Aquino, “Latay (Battered Husband)” by Ralston Jover, “Pan de Salawal” by Che Espiritu, “Lingua Franca” by Isabel Sandoval, and “John Denver Trending” by Arden Rod Condez. The honorees in the Directors category are Maria Diane Ventura for “Dein Fabre,” Mallorie Ortega for “The Girl Who Left Home,” and Derick Cabrido for “Clarita.”

The Actors category will award Cristine Reyes for “UnTrue,” Ruby Ruiz for “Iska,” Elijah Canlas for “Kalel, 15,” Louise Abuel for “Edward,” Isabel Sandoval for “Lingua Franca,” Alden  Richards for “Hello, Love, Goodbye,” Lovi Poe and Allen Dizon for “Latay,” and the cast of “Kaputol” led by Cherie Gil, Alfred Vargas, Angel Aquino, and Ronwaldo Martin.

FDCP reveals honorees of 5th Film Ambassadors’ Night
Angel Locsin and Dingdong Dantes

Dingdong Dantes and Arjo Atayde are the television awardees who made it to the FAN 2021 Actors list.

The FAN has other categories such as Short Films, Documentaries, Creative Awards, and Special Citation. The two Special Citation recipients are veteran television and film director Luisito Lagdameo Ignacio and the late filmmaker and International Film Festival Manhattan co-founder Gerry Balasta.

The FAN will bestow special awards to pay tribute to the invaluable contributions of film industry stakeholders who continuously work for the betterment of Philippine Cinema.

Cinemadvocates is a special segment of this year’s FAN to laud individuals and groups that tirelessly champion the welfare of film workers and the development of the industry. Pangasinan 4th District Rep. Christopher “Toff” de Venecia, National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) Chairman and Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) President Arsenio “Nick” Lizaso, Lockdown Cinema Club, Inter-Guild Alliance, Dingdong Dantes, and Angel Locsin are the FAN 2021 Cinemadvocates.

FDCP reveals honorees of 5th Film Ambassadors’ Night
Gloria Romero and Lav Diaz

The Gabay ng Industriya Award is a new citation to honor those who serve as Philippine Cinema’s guiding light and inspiration. The industry is grateful and honored to have witnessed their admirable artistry, incredible work ethic, and encompassing love for film.

Cinematography icon Romy Vitug is the Haligi ng Industriya Award recipient and legendary actress Gloria Romero is the Ilaw ng Industriya Award recipient.

The Camera Obscura Artistic Excellence Award is the highest citation awarded by the FDCP to trailblazers and legends in the industry. This year’s Camera Obscura awardees are Jun Juban of Philippine Film Studios, Inc., multi-awarded documentary “Aswang” by Alyx Arumpac, and former NCCA Commissioner Teddy Co.